Saturday, September 23, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

ARCANE ROOTS sign record deal with Play It Again Sam

May 9, 2012 by  

Leave a Comment

ARCANE ROOTS sign record deal with Play It Again Sam

Plus: band releases special and limited CD edition of debut mini album ‘Left Fire’ June 11th

– Band sign to Play It Again Sam, home of Young Guns, Seasick Steve and Zulu Winter
– The debut mini album limited CD edition of ‘Left Fire’ to include: All 8 original tracks totally remastered and remixed, exclusive new track ‘Habibity’ and 2 brand new acoustic versions of ‘You Are’ and Rouen’
– New track ‘Habibity’ will be released as a single up front of reissue, accompanied with a new video due in the coming weeks

ARCANE ROOTS, the Kingston trio, can now finally announce they have signed a record deal with the brilliant Play It Again Sam label (Young Guns, Seasick Steve, Zulu Winter). The band are currently hard at work on their debut album proper, set for an early 2013 release, which will includesome surprise collaborations and exciting new musical directions. The firstrelease for Play It Again Sam will be a limited CD edition of the much acclaimed debut mini album, ‘Left Fire’. This special edition version (the first to ever be officially released) will include all the 8 original tracks totally remastered and remixed, new track ‘Habibity’ and new acoustic version of ‘You Are’ and ‘Rouen’. The album will also be released as a non-limited digital format.

Front man Andrew Groves on signing the deal and finally releasing the brilliant ‘Left Fire’; “We are all incredibly excited to be signing with PIAS, they have supported us from an early stage and their ethos and values tie in perfectly with our own. We have all waited and worked long and hard to get this point, and now withPIAS on board we can really start making the impact we’ve wanted since we started the band. ‘Left Fire’ is what brought us to the attention of anyone who had heard it, and although it was written during a period of uneasiness, anxiety and turbulence in our lives, it served as a perfect, opening statement of what we are about and cemented what we are as a band. Now, to have it physically released with PIAS feels like it is finally complete and we can move on to the next chapter of our career, but not before we smash it out to whoever is still left wanting.”

The band will be releasing the new track ‘Habibity’ as a lead single with a brand new video directed by the band’s multi-talented drummer Daryl Atkins in advance of the album. ‘Habibity’ has already been picked up for support by Huw Stevens on his daytime Radio 1 Ones To Watch in 2012 show and by Katie Parsons at Kerrang! Magazine. Previous ARCANE ROOTS single’s have also been subject to a ‘Next Hype’ accolade on Zane Lowe’s show AS WELL AS a ‘Mauler’ on Dan P Carter’s show for the single ‘In This Town of such Weather’.

Full track listings for BOTH formats are as follows:

Limited Edition CD Version
1) Aus Blauderen Verederen / 2) In This Town
3) You Are / 4) Home
5) Rouen / 6) Million Dollar Question
7) Habibty / 8) Long & Low
9) Habibty (Extended Version)
10) You Are (Acoustic)
11) Rouen (Acoustic)

iTunes Version – as above

iTunes LP
1) Aus Blauderen Verederen / 2) In This Town
3) You Are / 4) Home
5) Rouen / 6) Million Dollar Question
7) Habibty / 8) Long & Low
9) Habibty (Extended Version)10) You Are (Acoustic)
11) Rouen (Acoustic)
13) Habibty (Music Video) / 14) You Are (Music Video)
15) In This Town (Music Video) / 16) You Are (Live Video)

Live wise, ARCANE ROOTS have already had a year of touring with both Twin Atlantic and Awol Nation, as well as played Hevy,Sonisphere, Camden Crawl, a Kerrang! Awards Show and Nass festivals as well as their first UK headline tour in September 2011 including a sold out London Barfly show. Whilst the Summer will see the band continue to work on their album they will make time to play a host of festivals and other shows, including 2000 Trees, Hit The Deck, Liverpool Sound City and Banquets Big day Out, with more TBA in the coming weeks.

Full list of confirmed shows are:
Sun-Apr-22 – Nottingham, Hit The Deck Festival – Rescue Rooms
Thu-May-17 – Liverpool, Soundcity – O2 Academy
Sunday-May 27th – Brighton Haunt with AWOL NATION
Mon-May-28 – London HMV Next Big Thing show with AWOL NATION – Garage
Mon-Jun-04 – Kingston Banquet Big Day Out
Sat-Jul-14 – Cheltenham, 2000 Trees Festival

Andrew Groves – Guitar and vocals
Adam Burton – Bass and vocals
Daryl Atkins – Drums and vocals

Warning: getimagesize() [function.getimagesize]: Filename cannot be empty in /var/sites/r/ on line 38



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.