Wednesday, October 18, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

Duff McKagen + Mike McCready release debut album as WALKING PAPERS

August 23, 2012 by  

Leave a Comment

Duff McKagen + Mike McCready release debut album as WALKING PAPERS

On October 1st the Walking Papers release their debut album, featuring appearances from Duff McKagen and Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready.

Walking Papers is a new blues-rock band formed by Jeff Angell and Barrett Martin, two long-serving veterans of the Seattle music scene. Jeff previously sang and played guitar for the bands Post Stardom Depression and The Missionary Position, and Barrett, a drummer and multi-instrumentalist, played for grunge pioneers Skin Yard and Screaming Trees, as well as the super groups Mad Season and Tuatara.

This debut album features a stellar cast of additional musicians who have each added their unique musical voice to the album: Visceral bass lines from Duff McKagan (Guns & Roses, Velvet Revolver), blistering guitar solos from Mike McCready (Pearl Jam, Mad Season), elegant keyboard stylings from Benjamin Anderson, and soulful horn arrangements from Dave Carter (Trumpet), Dan Spalding (Baritone Sax), and Ed Ulman (Trombone). The album was mixed by Jack Endino.

Walking Papers show on their debut album that a great song can be conveyed through percolating marimbas, vibraphone, piano, and trumpet, just as easily as it can with thundering drums, bass, and a howling guitar solo. The songs on this album stand alone as individual stories, but taken together as a whole, they tell a much larger narrative that conveys the tales of wandering souls, the collisions of will, and the dark beauty of the American heart.

Here is a link to the bands first single ‘Your Secret’s Safe With Me’

UK and European live dates are being planned

Walking Papers track listing
1. Already Dead
2. The Whole World’s Watching
3. Your Secret’s Safe With Me
4. Red Envelopes
5. Leave Me In The Dark
6. The Butcher
7. Two Tickets And A Room
8. I’ll Stick Around
9. Capital T
10. A Place Like This
11. Independence Day

Warning: getimagesize() [function.getimagesize]: Filename cannot be empty in /var/sites/r/ on line 38



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.