Monday, October 23, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

Emily Smith ‘Traiveller’s Joy’ and gigs

December 2, 2010 by  

Leave a Comment

Emily Smith ‘Traiveller’s Joy’ and gigs

Emily Smith is one of the leading singers in the Scottish & UK folk scene today. On 24th January 2011 Emily Smith’s will be releasing her new album, Traiveller’s Joy through White Fall Records. The album features songs Emily has written on the road throughout 2010 blending beautifully alongside traditional material sourced from the travelling people of Scotland. Covers include Richard Thompson’s Waltzing’s For Dreamers. Emily continues to draw inspiration from her home area of rural Dumfriesshire but this release sees her writing from a more personal viewpoint than before.

Guest musicians on the album feature an international line up including Nashville’s Stuart Duncan on fiddle, whom Emily met when performing on ‘Transatlantic Sessions’, Dublin’s Alan Doherty on flute and whistles, Australia’s James Fagan on bouzouki and Icelandic/Scot Signy Jakobsdottir on percussion with regular band mates Duncan Lyall on double bass and producer Jamie McClennan on guitar and fiddle.

Emily and the band will showcase the album at the Strathclyde Suite on the 28th January as part of Celtic Connections before undertaking a fifteen date UK tour in February:
January
28th – Celtic Connections, Glasgow – www.celticconnections.com
29th – Lochside Theatre, Castle Douglas – www.lochsidetheatre.co.uk
February
4th – One Touch Theatre, Inverness – www.eden-court.co.uk
12th – Walker Theatre, Shrewsbury – www.theatresevern.co.uk
14th – Compass Theatre, Ickenham – www.compasstheatre.co.uk
15th – St David’s Hall, Cardiff – www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk
16th – The Stables, Milton Keynes – www.stables.org
17th – Arlington Arts Centre, Newbury – www.arlingtonarts.co.uk
18th – Ashcroft Arts Centre, Fareham – www.3hants.gov.uk/ashcroft
19th – Arts Depot, London – www.artsdepot.co.uk
20th – Pavilion Arts Centre, Buxton – www.buxtonoperahouse.org
22nd – The Brewhouse Theatre, Taunton – www.thebrewhouse.net
23rd – Lakeside Arts Centre, Nottingham – www.lakesidearts.org.uk
24th – Baston Barn, Baston
25th – The Met, Bury – www.themet.biz
26th – Rose Theatre, Ormskirk – www.edgehill.ac.uk/rosetheatre
27th – Aberystwyth Arts Centre, Aberystwyth – www.aberystwythartscentre.co.uk

www.emilysmith.org






 

Share

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.