Monday, October 23, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

fun. music video

April 15, 2010 by  

Leave a Comment

fun. music video

fun. will be back on these shores soon in advance of their debut album getting its UK release. Single ‘All The Pretty Girls’ will be released on 31st May and you can check out the piñata-incorporating video that accompanies the track below. Please post online where possible!

New York based three-piece fun. are set to release their debut album ‘Aim & Ignite’ through Hassle Records on June 7th with exclusive bonus content. The album will be preceded by the single All the Pretty Girls on May 31st.

fun. is what happens when three extraordinarily talented musicians come together to create something altogether new and wonderful. Nate Ruess, late of The Format, has teamed up with multi-instrumentalist Andrew Dost and Jack Antonoff (Steel Train), resulting in their ingenious debut, Aim And Ignite. The trio melds an array of diverse inspirations – spanning Broadway to The Beach Boys, “Nilsson Schmilsson’ to “Pinkerton” – into an irresistible collection of freewheeling pop songcraft.

With ‘Aim & Ignite’, fun have crafted a contemporary rethinking of classic 70s pop, where ornate arrangements and inspired orchestrations meet present-day rock ‘n’ roll. Take, for example, At Least I’m Not As Sad (As I Used To Be), which suggests the heretofore unimagined sound of a Caribbean Queen, with Ruess belting extravagantly over a backdrop of festive horns and steel drums. Barlights – arranged by longtime Ruess fave Roger Joseph Manning Jr. (Jellyfish, Imperial Drag, Moog Cookbook) – is brash and brassy blue-eyed soul, while Dost’s Light A Roman Candle With Me is rollicking and Randy Newman-esque.

Songs like the album-opening Be Calm meld finely wrought chamber-pop orchestrations – all brass and strings and multi-tracked harmonies – with guitar-fueled rock ‘n’ roll, and tracks like Benson Hedges and single All The Pretty Girls are fit to burst with richly prolix lyricism and intricate melodic twists and turns, which provide plenty of room for Ruess’ distinctive vocals to soar.

Full tracklisting:
1. Be Calm / 2. Benson Hedges / 3. All the Pretty Girls / 4. I Wanna Be The One / 5. At least I’m Not As Sad (As I Used To Be) / 6. Light A Roman Candle With Me / 7. Walking the Dog / 8. Barlights / 9. The Gambler / 10. Take Your Time (Coming Home)

BONUS CONTENT – The UK album will have following audio as bonus tracks in addition to 10 track album:
11. Intro (Live @ Fingerprints) / 12. Walking The Dog (Live @ Fingerprints) / 13. All The Pretty Girls (Live @ Fingerprints) / 14. Interlude (Live @ Fingerprints) / 15. The Gambler (Live @ Fingerprints) / 16. At Least I’m Not As Sad (As I Used To Be) (Live @ Fingerprints) / 17. Take Your Time (Live @ Fingerprints)

Following the band’s week of sold out debut London shows in March, fun are set to return to our shores to spread their Ben Folds, Shins and Polyphonic Spree reminiscent, uplifting musical vibes across the UK in May:
Fri 21st Liverpool, Shipping Forecast / Sound City
Sat 22nd Glasgow, Stag and Dagger
Sun 23rd Leeds, Cockpit 2
Mon 24th Brighton, Prince Albert
Tue 25th London, Kings College
Thu 27th Kingston, New Slang
Sat 29th Bristol Academy / Dot to Dot
Sun 30th Nottingham Rock City / Dot to Dot
Mon 31st Manchester Academy / Dot to Dot



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.