Friday, September 22, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

Japandroids announce reissue compilation ‘No Singles’‏

March 16, 2010 by  

Leave a Comment

Japandroids announce reissue compilation ‘No Singles’‏

Not ones to rest on their laurels, Japandroids have announced they will be re-releasing their two out-of-print EPs as a reissue compilation through Polyvinyl Records on May 11th. Entitled ‘No Singles’, the ten tracks have been remastered by John Golden (Melvins, Nirvana) and will be available on gatefold 180 gram vinyl, CD – both of which will include a 32 page booklet – and digital download. The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Darkness on the Edge of Gastown, 2. No Allegiance to the Queen, 3. Sexual Aerosol, 4. Lovers/Strangers, 5. Lucifer’s Symphony, 6. Couture Suicide, 7. Avant Sleepwalk, 8. Coma Complacency, 9. To Hell with Good Intentions, 10. Press Corps

Additionally Japandroids will be releasing a five-part series of 7″ singles throughout 2010 on Polyvinyl Records. Each limited edition 7″ will feature a previously unreleased track from the ‘Post Nothing’ sessions alongside a cover. Japandroids devised the 7″ series as a way to give something back to their fans while the band is in the midst of heavy touring and unable to record a full album. Each two-song 7″ will be recorded during the brief period of time the band is at home between tours.

First up, released on April 12th is ‘Art Czars’, the clear coloured vinyl will also feature ‘Racer-X’ – a Big Black cover and live favourite. You can preorder it here plus it will also be available for digital download:

After a string of triumphant debut shows in the UK last year, which saw the two-piece bring their explosive live act to packed out audiences, Japandroids have confirmed they will return to Europe for a string of UK shows in May including an appearance at The Great Escape Festival. Having sold out London’s ICA, 6 weeks in advance of their headline show last month, Japandroids will be playing The Garage when they return in May.

New May 2010 dates
Thursday 13th May – Saturday 15th May – The Great Escape, Brighton
Monday 17th May – DiScover @ The Harley, Sheffield
Tuesday 18th May – Jericho, Oxford
Wednesday 19th May – Joiners, Southampton
Thursday 20th May – The Garage, London

Japandroids’ critically acclaimed debut album ‘Post-Nothing’ is out now on Polyvinyl.

2009 YEAR-END LISTS for Post-Nothing:
# 15 / PITCHFORK Top 50 Albums
# 15 / PITCHFORK Top 40 Albums / Readers Poll
# 16 / SPIN Top 40 Albums
# 39 / NME Top 50 Albums
# 15 / THE FLY Albums
# 21 / STEREOGUM Top 50 Albums / Gummys
# 25 / THE ONION AV CLUB Top 25 Albums
# 9 / CHICAGO TRIBUNE Top 10 Albums
#8 / CHICAGO SUN TIMES Top 20 Albums

Japandroids are:
Brian King – Guitar/Vocals
David Prowse – Drums/Vocals



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.