Tuesday, October 17, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

Munk: FREE Hits + Remix Mixtape

March 7, 2011 by  

Leave a Comment

Munk: FREE Hits + Remix Mixtape

To celebrate the release of his new album, The Bird and The Beat, out on Gomma Records (4th April), Munk is giving away a ‘Hits & Remix’ Mixtape absolutely free.

Munk, aka Mathias Modica, returns with a stunning new album, The Bird and The Beat, out on Gomma Records this spring. This musical extravaganza contains fourteen breathtaking disco tinged new wave funk pop songs featuring twelve hotly tipped female singers handpicked from around the globe, including Lou Hayter of New Young Pony Club fame.

Munk Hits & Remix Tape by Gomma

Having made a name for himself by teaming up with one James Murphy from LCD fame for the underground cult smash, Kick The Chairs, Munk is ready for another round of retro-tastic indie house shenanigans.

The album kicks off like a classic 90s house record and develops into a colorful, kaleidoscopic aural journey. Often textured and peppered with kraut-rock influences as heard on Dort and Keep My Secret, Munk delves into his eclectic bag of tricks and pulls out some exquisite Italo disco gems with La Musica and Kitchen Call.

Modica then take us back to the 70s with Rue De Rome and conjours up a sweet Parisian chanson on Violent Love. We also get treated to a dose of Brazilian punk-house courtesy of Mis Labios.

Songs are sung in English mixed with six other languages and with all musical arrangements – Munk himself performs piano, synths, xylophones, bass, guitars, drum machines, and Asian percussions. This is a mixed bag that somehow blends seamlessly together to produce something special and unique.

Munk has collaborated with fellow luminaries like DJ Chloe, Asia Argento, Micky Moonlight (Ed Banger) and James Murphy on his previous two albums, The Bird and The Beat is Munk’s latest offering to bring a little spring to your step as the summer season beckons and features Etienne de Crecy, Alex Gopher, and Jan Driver (Boys Noize).

Tracklisting: 1. Can I Have Your Attention, 2. La Musica, 3. No Moon Over Kuala Lumpur, 4. Violent Love, 5. Keep My Secret, 6. Kitchen Call, 7. Mira Excuse Me, 8. Mis Labios, 9. Tipsy, 10. Marseille Macheta, 11. Rue De Rome, 12. So Close, 13. A Bored Heart, 14. Dort




Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.