Friday, November 17, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

Röyksopp unveil video preview!

August 5, 2010 by  

Leave a Comment

Röyksopp unveil video preview!

Röyksopp have unveiled a 60-second preview of their brand new short-film/ EPK ‘Adventures In Barbieland’, which premieres in full on the Guardian’s website on Friday (6th August). Featuring music from their new album ‘Senior’ (the track used in the video is called ‘The Alcoholic’) it finds Svein and Torbjorn lost in a world of small plastic women (and men).

The fully-instrumental ‘Senior’ is released on the 13th September 2010 through Wall of Sound. It is the counterpart to last year’s fantastic album ‘Junior’.

Röyksopp are set to release the counterpart to last year’s critically acclaimed ‘Junior’ album on the 13th September 2010.

More introspective and freeform than its poppier partner and fully instrumental, the Nordic electronic pioneers Svein Berge and Torbjorn Brundtland recorded ‘Senior’ at the same time as ‘Junior’ and it finds Royksopp in fine form.

Royksopp explain: “The two albums (‘Junior’ and ‘Senior’) have a kinship, in that they represent Röyksopp’s two very different artistic expressions. ‘Junior’ – with emphasis on vocals, accessible melodies and harmonies, has the energy, the inquisitive temper and confident “hey-ho, let’s go!”-attitude of youth, whereas ‘Senior’ is the introverted, dwelling and sometimes graceful counterpart – brimfull with dark secrets and distorted memories, insisting “I’m old, I’ve got experince…”. Senior’ is furthermore an album about age, horses and being subdued – with devils breathing down your neck.”

‘Senior’ was written as a complete set of tracks, each designated to take a specific part in the bigger piece. All individual tracks have been made with the intent of coexisting with the other tracks on the album.

“Each track is equally as important as its predecessor and successor. We feel that none of the tracks should be regarded outside of this context, ie. separated from the rest of the album. Quite a “brave”/stupid thing to do in this day & age of iPods and cherrypicking, one might suggest. We couldn’t agree more – hell that’s even probably why we did it.”

‘Senior’ is released on 13th September on Wall Of Sound. The album tracklisting is as follows:
1 …And The Forest Began To Sing
2 Tricky Two
3 The Alcoholic
4 Senior Living
5 The Drug
6 Forsaken Cowboy
7 The Fear
8 Coming Home
9 A Long, Long Way



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.