Wednesday, October 18, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

Starseed confirmed to play Download Festival and tour the UK with Senser in June

June 3, 2010 by  

Leave a Comment

Starseed confirmed to play Download Festival and tour the UK with Senser in June

Ian Camfield of XFM nailed it when he said that Starseed are hotly tipped for 2010. It’s only June, and Starseed have been invited to play at Download Festival 2010 and have also been asked to support UK rock stalwarts, Senser on their upcoming O2 Academy Tour.

“This year has started with a huge bang for us,” exhorts drummer Andrew Spence. “The wheels are in motion and we’re ready to make sure the next decade belongs to Starseed!”

Their inclusion in this year’s Download Festival catapults Starseed into a whole new league. Donington Park, host to not only to the world famous Download but also the former Monsters Of Rock and Ozzfest, has been a pinnacle in the rock industry worldwide for over three decades of all things rock and metal. With each year having it’s own brand and unique flavour, 2010 is no different! Around the globe the Download 2010 line-up is hailed as the best yet, with artists including AC/DC, Rage Against The Machine, Aerosmith, Deftones, Stone Temple Pilots and now.Starseed! Adding to their list of UK festivals this year, Starseed will also be playing London Tattoo Convention and at Hard Rock Hell IV.

Having also previously played alongside Rage Against The Machine and confirmed for the Download bill this year, the UK rock regulars, Senser have eagerly invited Starseed to support them on their 02 Academy Tour of the UK starting in London on 19 June.

All of this recent success is owed to Starseed’s UK tour in March and the hard work and dedication following the self-release of their second studio album “Peace Machine” at the end of last year. It is this album and tour which caught the attention of the festival organizers hook, line and sinker.

Peace Machine not only caught the attention of the festival organizers but also of the rock venues across the UK. ACP Promotions, a reputable music marketing/research company owned by Andy Copping, recently selected Starseed to take part in a comprehensive research project. Sending over 200 albums to rock venue DJs around the country who then had to feedback on audience response and personal opinion. The results showed that 82% of these rock club DJ’s and their audiences voted tracks off Peace Machine to be excellent. “This is a really encouraging response to the Starseed mail-out… and I would say this puts Starseed way above average of the other bands I work with,” said Andy Copping.

Shining brightly indeed, Starseed is living up to their title track off the new album. Since capturing the attention of the UK media, ‘Shine’ has also received high acclaim internationally after being released in their homeland of South Africa in April. The single has reached No.1 on the South African rock charts and the video is being screened on all major TV stations. Peace Machine is now available in stores and online across South Africa thanks to securing a distribution deal with Electromode.

With a sound that takes in the epic, melodic rock tendencies of the resurgent grunge scene, Pearl Jam to Alice In Chain, all the way through to the intelligent aggression and energy of hard rock regulars like Cancer Bats, Soil and Alexisonfire. Starseed offer up a sound as dynamically post-millennial as you could wish for.

See for yourself at one of the following live shows:
04 Jun – Inferno, Bournemouth
11 Jun – Download Festival, Derby
19 Jun – O2 Academy2 Islington with Senser
20 Jun – O2 Academy2 Bristol with Senser
21 Jun – O2 Academy2 Newcastle-Upon-Tyne with Senser
22 Jun – O2 ABC Glasgow with Senser
02 Jul – Hobo’s, Bridgend
10 Jul – The Well (formerly Joseph’s Well), Leeds
18 Jul – Barfly, Cardiff, Wales
07 Aug – Purple Turtle, London
25 Sep – London Tattoo Convention, Tobacco Dock
03 Dec – Hard Rock Hell IV, Prestatyn Sands, Wales

Starseed consists of: Russell Spence – Vocals, Guitars | Peter Wicker – Guitar | Gerald Gill – Guitar, Vocals | Andrew Spence – Drums, Vocals

Peace Machine is available on iTunes for download or can be bought from



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.