Saturday, September 23, 2017    Log in

How To Get Free Backstage Passes

The Automatic – Tear The Signs Down

April 9, 2010 by  

Leave a Comment

The Automatic – Tear The Signs Down

NAME: The Automatic
ALBUM: Tear The Signs Down
YEAR: 2010 (March 15th)
LABEL: Armoured records

FIVE WORD REVIEW: Diluted rock lacking peaktime ooomph.

LOCATION: Cardiff, Wales

LINE UP: Robin Hawkins (vocals) / Paul Mullen (guitars) / James Frost (bass) / Iwan (Wange) Griffiths(drums)

WHAT’S THE STORY?: Four years since ‘Monster’ stormed the charts, The Automatic are coming over the hill with an album that is populated with too many fillers. For a third album, this is still more of the same, easy-on-the-ear guitar riffs and chirpy vocals, rock for the awkward adolescents rather than the more mature listener. There are some clever harmonies present and fans of previous albums who want more of the same will be pleased. The rousing guitars on ‘Interstate’ and the anthemic chorus of ‘Cannot be Saved’ lift this album above mediocrity but otherwise this is a disappointing offering.

strong>SOUNDS LIKE: the Bluetones, 90s indie-band who similarly had a big hit with ‘Slight Return’ and then struggled to replicate its success.

YOU’LL LIKE THIS IF YOU LIKE: uplifting riffs and melodies.

LINKS: Official Website // MySpace



Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.